## CHAMBER OF THE BOARD OF CITY COMMISSIONERS YANKTON, SOUTH DAKOTA SPECIAL MEETING – APRIL 14, 2023, 12:00 P.M.

Special Meeting of the Board of City Commissioners of the City of Yankton was called to order by Finance Officer Al Viereck, in the absence of Mayor Moser & City Manager Leon.

**Roll Call:** Present: Commissioners Brunick, Johnson, Miner, Schramm, Webber and Villanueva. Absent: Commissioners Benson, Maibaum, Mayor Moser, City Manager Leon and City Attorney Den Herder.

Quorum present.

Moved by Commissioner Miner, seconded by Commissioner Villanueva, to nominate Commissioner Johnson to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem.

Roll Call: All members present voting "Aye;" voting "Nay:" None. Motion adopted.

There were no public appearances at this time.

Finance Officer Viereck thanked Deputy Finance Officer Lisa Yardley, and Finance staff members Sue O'Grady, Sara VanderTuig, and Sandi Fox for their role in the handling of the April 11<sup>th</sup> City Commission Election, the Absentee Balloting and the Election Tabulating. He then turned the meeting over to Deputy Finance Officer Yardley to explain the final vote tally for the April 11<sup>th</sup> City Commission Elections

## Action 23-081

Moved by Commissioner Schramm, seconded by Commissioner Webber, that the Canvass of election returns for the City of Yankton Election of Tuesday, April 11th, 2023 be approved as follows:

## OFFICIAL CANVASS SHEET APRIL11, 2023 MUNICIPAL ELECTION CITY OF YANTON

Vote Center	1	2	3		
City Commissioner Three Year Term	<u>City Hall</u>	North Fire Station	<u>Absentee</u>	<u>Total</u>	
Brian Hunhoff	327	390	268	985	
Stephanie Moser	248	316	175	739	
Thomas J. Bixler	31	38	24	93	
Tony Maibaum	205	300	167	672	
Charlie Gross	222	207	155	584	
Ben Brunick	269	297	232	798	
Total Number Voting	1302	1548	1021	3871	

April 14, 2023 Page 2

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA				
COUNTY OF YANKTON	)			

We, the undersigned City Commissioners of the City of Yankton, South Dakota, appointed as the Board of Canvassers because of our positions on the governing board in the jurisdiction of Yankton For the Municipal Election held on the 11th day of April, 2023, hereby certify that the foregoing is a true abstract of the votes cast in the jurisdiction of Yankton at the election as shown by the returns Certified to the person in charge of the election.

We further find and declare that Brian Hunhoff, Ben Brunick and Stephanie Moser having received a majority of all votes cast in said election, for members of the Board of Commissioners are duly elected for a period of three years.

**Roll Call:** All members present voting "Aye;" Commissioner Miner, Schramm, Webber, Villanueva and Mayor Johnson voting "Nay:" None. Abstaining: Commissioner Brunick Motion adopted.

## Action 23-082

Moved by Commissioner Schramm, seconded by Commissioner Webber, to adjourn at 12:07 p.m. **Roll Call:** All members present voting "Aye;" voting "Nay:" None. Motion adopted.

		Stephanie Moser, Mayor
ATTEST:		
	Al Viereck, Finance Officer	